Walking Tall

One of the toughest challenges I have had in the past few months has been dealing with terrible coworkers and even worst managers at work. First of all, I want to make sure that it isn’t assumed that I talk about my coworkers and supervisors behind my back–not at all. Actually, my goal isn’t to thrash anyone’s reputation or pride. But I do want to highlight some of the things I have encountered in full-time employment that have, in simple terms, ticked me off.

1. Don’t take up a project you have no idea how to complete.

Recently (as in today), a certain supervisor tasked me with researching two different hardware systems that we needed at work. The purpose of my research was to learn and understand why one was thousands of dollars more expensive than the other.

Now, I have no problem carrying out tasks and projects–except when our department isn’t qualified to handle the project. Even beyond that, the project is one which shouldn’t be in our department. So, while a certain supervisor sat at his desk all day wasting time, I knew that at the end of the day I would end up having to do the project–I repeat, a project I am not qualified to handle.

I finished the project in 30 minutes.

2. I am not a fast-typer; I am simply efficient with my time.

And no sir, I am not a fast typer. Unlike the rest of your subordinates, I actually decided to do my work and complete in two hours what took my fellow coworker a week to complete.

Another thing that has really come to bother me is people who purposely slack at work because they know that if they finish too fast, they will be assigned something else to do. I realized how much fellow coworkers were slacking when it took me 2 hours to complete what took others a week–and no, I am not a demon typer…sir.

Maybe it is something that I learned while being a cadet in the Army or going through Basic Training, but no one wins when we slack at our tasks and at what we are assigned. I see this often, not just at work but also while in school.

This post will read mostly like a venting session. I don’t approve of venting session. But it’s something that has been bothering me all day. Upper managers should create an environment in which lower managers aren’t afraid to say “I am not qualified to properly do this.” A work site should also always make sure to motivate employees to be effective and efficient. No one wins when people decide to slack over properly complete tasks–no one.

Leave a Reply

