For God and Country: Are we attached to patriotism?

Neue Magazine‘s most recent issue highlighted a recent report from the Pew Research Forum which speaks on a number of interesting correlations between being a Christian and our identification with patriotism.

According to the Pew Research Forum, nine in 10 Americans believe the United States to be the superior nation. The most likely group to say so were Evangelicals.

What I found interesting was the positive correlation between patriotic displays and percentage of Americans who call themselves Christian. 78% of religious Americans display a flag on their clothes, in the office or at home, contrary to 58% of nonreligious who claimed they did so.

75% of Americans call themselves Christian while 62% of Americans said the United States is a “Christian nation.”

Now, I really don’t feel like getting into a discussion on whether the U.S. is a Christian nation or not–I got over that debate about half way through high school. What I found interesting was that 3 out of 4 religious Americans displayed the American flag in some form or place–a 20% difference from nonreligious Americans. As Christians, do we hold a special attachment to our country? Does it come from our perceived glorification of the past and of conservative traditions and beliefs? It’s hard to narrow something down.

What I can speak on is the impact that my faith has on my patriotism. As a Christian, and having been raised in a Christian family, I have grown up holding certain tenets as most important for social living, if not sacred. These tenets include: integrity, honesty, trustworthiness, loyalty, selfless service, among others. I don’t think that my religiosity makes these tenets any more important to me than to nonreligious, but I would say they were heavily emphasize and taught from early on. As a result, I found a natural attraction to the military and, as a result, to a heightened sense of patriotism.

Hope this was informative.

Leave a Reply

