How to be King of Social Media and what’s up with Google+

Doing my routine blog  hopping this morning, I came across a series of blog posts that my wife told me I should read about a week ago. Obviously I didn’t because (1) I am stubborn and foolish, and (2) because God likes to teach me the hard way.

But anyway, the blog posts are written and published by Jon Acuff, writer of the blog Stuff Christians Like, author of a book by the same title and Quitter. Acuff writes on the 5 C’s of Social Media Dominance by focusing on Content, Context, Clarity, Consistency, and Community. He states that in order to be successful and effectively and efficiently use social media, you need to understand and apply the 5 C’s. The post are pretty excellent and you can find them here.

I want to highlight one of the points that he brings up regarding Google+. While having dinner with a social media consultant, the consultant stated a frustration with the social network Google+. The consultant stated that: ““I know I’m supposed to be using Google +, but I just don’t know what I’m supposed to be doing.”

Acuff goes on to write:

“And it turns out, so do a lot of other people. The Wall Street Journal reported that, “Visitors using personal computers spent an average of about three minutes a month on Google+ between September and January, versus six to seven hours on Facebook each month over the same period, according to comScore, which didn’t have data on mobile usage.”

So what does this tell us about social media? Well I don’t know the answer to that. However, I do know that when Google+ came out my first thought was: What does Google+ offer me that I can’t efficiently and effectively do through Facebook and Twitter? I am still looking for that answer.

Be blessed.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

