The Wisdom of Forrest Griffin

I am a year-long reader. By this I mean that I am reading multiple books throughout the entire year–non-stop. On my last search for some book outside the ordinary, I came across Got Fight? The 50 Zen Principles of Hand-to-Face Combat by Forrest Griffin. First of all, I didn’t know Forrest Griffin, UFC fighter and former UFC Light Heavyweight champion, had written a book. I even had doubts that he could write (which he states is something bad-ass people shouldn’t do, according to the book). So I picked up the book and as I near the halfway point, I must share with the world some of Forrest’s wisdom quotes that need to be passed on. The book is a must-read for UFC fans and anyone who enjoys a solid common sense with a bit or rawness and sarcasm with a hint of bullshit. Check it out.

All of us have bad habits that we fall back upon in times of stress, and the goal is to force your opponent to retreat to the shelter of his bad habits before he can force you to do it first.

“If you want to be a good grappler, play as many video games as possible. Personally, I suck at video games, which is the reason why my jujitsu isn’t off-the-charts good…It helps with your eye/hand coordination or some shit like that.”

Fear is a good thing because it keeps you alive, but if it becomes so great that it hinders you from doing what you want, you need to confront it head-on…With that said, if you lose or get stabbed, I will tell everyone that I told you street fighting is stupid.

“After I shower, I drink an Americana espresso from Starbucks (please, please sponsor me!). When the coffee is finished, it signifies that it is time to work. (If Starbucks does not sponsor me, screw drinking coffee as a part of your routine. Drink a protein shake instead.)”

_________

Hopefully some of those made your morning enough to requote them at lunch to your friends. It will definitely gain you some bad-ass points as well as the opportunity to host the next UFC pay-per-view at your place (which is major “f”ing points).

Peace. And to Forrest Griffin, thank you for your words.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

