My Top Moments as Part of the Wolfpack

My years at NC State: 2007-2011

My years at NC State: 2007-2011

In case you didn’t already know, which means you haven’t read the “About” me page, I am an NC State University fan, due to the fact that I attended and graduated from North Carolina State. My time as part of the Pack began in the fall of 2007 as a young freshman, while I was still attached to the Florida State Seminoles who I had grown up learning to root for. Man, how much I hated the Gators!

But as my freshman year went by, I became more and more a stronger fan of the Wolfpack. By the fall of my sophomore year, I was sold and I realized that I bled red–NC State Red. You may ask yourself why it took me a year to become a die-hard Wolfpacker. Well, I had grown up a Seminole and attended a lot of Duke games while I lived in Durham. I never saw myself as part of the Pack until I went to NC State. Now I thank God every night for such a blessing as being part of the Pack.

Five years after beginning my time as a State fan, I have had quite a few “top” moments with the Wolfpack. I have decided to rank my top 5, starting with number five and making my way to my very top moment as part of the NC State Wolfpack. Go Pack! Go State!

#5: North Carolina State 28, No. 24 North Carolina 27

November 28th, 2009 at Carter-Finley Stadium, Raleigh, North Carolina

This moment with the Pack comes in at No. 5 because it was the ONLY NC State football game that I was able to watch of the 2009 season. It was terrible season for the Wolfpack. We didn’t get to go to a bowl game. The reason why this game was special, however, was because not only was this the only game I got to watch, but because the Wednesday prior to this game I had graduated for the U.S. Army’s basic training and Infantry school at Fort Benning. It meant so much to me to watch the Pack beat the Tar Heels on Thanksgiving weekend after graduating from Basic. It was a great gift.

#4: North Carolina State 37, No. 7 Clemson 13

November 19th, 2011 at Carter-Finley Stadium, Raleigh, North Carolina

This game comes in at No. 4 because it was an incredible experience to be present at The Carter and watch QB Mike Glennon lead the Pack into a beat-down of No. 7 Clemson. We had just lost to Boston College the weekend before and had very low expectations for this game. However, the Pack is the Pack, and we love to spoil other’s seasons. This was an incredible experience and I will never forget it.

#3: North Carolina State 17, No. 3 Florida State 16

October 6th, 2012 at Carter-Finley Stadium, Raleigh, North Carolina

There we were–my wife, one of my best friends, his wife, and I–on our feet as QB Mike Glennon delivered a bullet into the hands of WR Bryan Underwood for the game-winning touchdown against the top ranked Seminoles. Oh man! What a night! We had lost on a terrible game to Miami the previous weekend. But in great NC State fashion, we went from a terrible loss, to a miraculous victory. I was there, my dad was there across the stadium, my wife was there, my best friend was there with his wife. It was an epic night that I will never forget. The Seminoles came up to Raleigh…and they were conquered. Go Wolfpack!

#2: North Carolina State 23, No. 22 West Virginia 7

165054_1515811900871_5698742_n

December 28th, 2010 at Champs Sports Bowl, Orlando, Florida

Who knew that it w

ould be Russell Wilson’s last game leading the Wolfpack! What a game! What a night! We outnumbered the Mountaineers 3-2 at the stadium and the Pack was crazy wild! We were the underdogs, but the Pack came out on the hunt and we demolished a ranked West Virginia team. This was my very first bowl game in attendance, the last time any of us watched Russell Wilson lead the Pack, and a great experience with friends and my wife. I will never forget that before Russell Wilson was Badger, he was first part of the Wolfpack.

165659_1515819741067_2525744_n

 

 

 

#1: North Carolina State 31, North Carolina 27

November 10th, 2007 at Carter-Finley Stadium, Raleigh, North Carolina

Doesn’t take much to guess why this is my very top moment with the Wolfpack. It was my very first NC State vs. UNC game while at State, and we won on a crazy last second play at the end zone–UNC was so close to scoring and winning! I remember this day very well because I was seated next to a friend of mine who was a Senior. When we had won, I turned and I almost saw the guy cry. He told me that in all his years at State, we had never beaten UNC, but on his senior game day, we had finally beaten the Tar Heels. I think it was on this day that I solidly became part of the Wolfpack and I never again looked back. God bless the Pack!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “My Top Moments as Part of the Wolfpack

  1. lfor says:

    Awesome recollection of life-recent moments…may more to come.
    I understand your #1 pick. i still think the #3 was memorable, probably because i was there and bought my ticket the night before the game. i had a feeling something powerful was going to happen.

    • oli1989 says:

      That night was awesome! I think #1 for me was the NCSU vs UNC game because that’s when I realized the intensity of Pack-Passion and how much beating Carolina means.

Leave a Reply

